Return to Headlines

Fox Lane High School’s Science Olympiad Team Heads to States

Fox Lane Science Olympiad team celebrates

Fox Lane High School’s Science Olympiad Team is headed to the State Championships for the tenth consecutive year. After placing seventh out of 48 teams at the Lower Hudson Valley Regional earlier this month, our student scientists are headed to Syracuse in mid-March to participate in the New York State Competition.

“No other team in our region has had this many consecutive years of participation in States,” said Jerry Ludwig, who co-advises the team with Fred Neumann.

Science Olympiad Regional and State Tournaments are rigorous academic interscholastic competitions consisting of a series of team events that Fox Lane students collaboratively prepare for during the year. These challenging and motivational events are well-balanced between the various science disciplines and applications of biology, earth science, chemistry, physics and technology.

Many Fox Lane students finished in the top ten in their events and earned a medal for their outstanding results:

  • Top medal earners Zach Cohen and Max Chen placed second in Fermi Questions
  • The team’s co-presidents, Zach Cohen and Max Rubinstein, finished third in Astronomy
  • Juniors Maddie Stone and Gabe Wierzchowski placed third in Disease Detective
  • Jasper Sizer and Charlie Wilson placed third in Ecology
  • David Matz and Max Rubinstein earned fifth place in Chemistry Lab
  • Seventh-place finishers included Gabe Wierzchowski, Max Chen and Owen Dunne in Codebusters; Zach Cohen and Maddie Stone in Geologic Mapping; Owen Dunne and Michael Mazurek in Microbe Mission; and Michael Mazurek and Max Bly in Optics
  • Ewan MacDonald and Saer Sicigano earned a tenth-place finish in Tower 

Congratulations to all of the Fox Lane Science Olympians who attended: Gustavo Aguirre, Bianca Bayona, Maxwell Bly, Maxim Chen, Zach Cohen, Jack Cristiano, Ashley Del Cid Romero, Owen Dunne, Spencer Eigel, Caleb Hollander, Zephyr Kimmel, Rebecca Kolb, Ralph Kolb, Hades Laskaris, Jackson Lubinsky, Ewan MacDonald, David Matz, Michael Mazurek, Chase Metzger, Alex Montaño-Miller, Sophie Nahmias, Jayson Ramon, Max Rubinstein, Xavier Santos, Saba Shahidi, Saer Sicignano, Sidney Sicignano, Jasper Sizer, Maddie Stone, Felix Suiu, Arturo Tejada, Meghana Uday, Christian Valente, Aidan Weise, Gabe Wierzchowski, Charlie Wilson, and Emma (Xiong) Chang. Myer Simkhai attended the all-day event and was an invaluable help in assisting with judging and receiving medals for students who could not attend the awards ceremony.  

The Fox Lane Science Olympiad State Team roster will include Maxwell Bly, Emma Chang, Max Chen, Zach Cohen, Owen Dunne, Rebecca Kolb, Ewan MacDonald, David Matz, Michael Mazurek, Max Rubinstein, Jasper Sizer, Felix Suiu, Arturo Tejada, Gabe Wierzchowski, Charlie Wilson, and alternates Gus Aguirre and Jack Cristiano.

We’re already cheering you all on!

team makes a tower